## ACADEMIC SENATE Minutes MEETING #7

Thursday, November 18, 2021, 2:00 t 4:00 pm

Zoom link: <a href="https://csulb.zoom.us/j/97606370449">https://csulb.zoom.us/j/97606370449</a>

- 1. CALL TO ORDER- 2:01 pm, NH begins with land acknowledgment.
- 2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA- MSA as amended, adding Mariza Hernandez from Instructional design and accessibility to 8.1 as a guest.
- 3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES
  - 3.1 Academic Senate meeting of November 4, 2021- MSA
- 4. REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND COUNCILS
  - 4.1 Executive Committee: Announcements- NH announces that the Retreat has been postponed to 3-17-22, and we polled to indicate who might be attending. Topic is mental health and wellness. Poll results, would attend=43 (77%); would not attend=13 (23%). NH mentions zoom etiquette as well as voting restrictions. Streamlining conversation updates mentioned to the senate.
  - 4.2 Nominating Committee Nominations t, vote, yes=45 no=4. Nominations approved by the Senate

Search Committee for the new Dean of (CPaCE)

- x Katherine McLoone, Lecturer, Comparative World Literature Program, CLA
- x Barbara Grossman-Thompson t Associate Professor, International Studies, CLA
- x Subhash Rajpoot, Professor, Physics & Astronomy, CNSM
- x Heather Barker- Interim Chair, Design- Associate Professor Graduate Coordinator MA HXDI, COTA
- x Henry O'Lawrence, Professor, Graduate Advisor & Undergraduate Director- HCA, CHHS
- x Ehsan Barjasteh, Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering, COE
- **x** Richard R. Marcus. Professor of International Studies and Director of The Global Studies Institute and the MA in International Affairs. CLA- alternate
- x Nancy Hall- Professor and Chair- Department of Linguistics, CLA- alternate
- 5. CONSENT CALENDAR N/A

## 6. SPECIAL ORDERS

Report from CSULB President Jane Conoley, TIME CERTAIN 2:10 PM tover 98% vaccination rate, 100% of faculty, booster shots are available and recommended. New chief of staff, Christopher Fowler announced. First US team for Moot Court to win three nationals in a row. Tonight, an in-person dance recital for the first time in two years. Ribbon cutting for the Hillside gateway building was today. This will be the 30<sup>th</sup> µ]o]vP]všZÁ}CEoš} building, creating more energy than it uses. FRA/EDI recipients announced recently.

0 0

6.2 Report from CFA Co-President, Deborah Hamm- DH reports on CFA happenings, recent rally had over 140 persons in attendance at the CO. We are back at the bargaining table when at the impasse level which is a positive sign, rally appears to have had an impact. To improve working

conditions is a goal of CFA, some information will be forthcoming regarding an improv-rally. CAT, contract action team, CFA has been working on this for many months in many categories. CFA is trying to avoid an action but if one happens, CFA will be prepared. Bargaining ideas website shown and membership encouraged.

## 7. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

7.1 Proposal for a Standalone Policy on Withdrawals (AS-1153-21/-2(thBT/F2E545 Tm0 g0 G(-)]).00000912 (

AS Attendance 11-18-21
Adam Schwartz
Al Colburn
Alessandro Russo
Alicia Del Campo
Andrea Caban
Ann Kinsey -
Becky Nash
Beth Lesen
Bita Ghafoori
Boualoy.Dayton
Brian Katz (BK)
Brooke Winder
Chloé Pascual
Chris Brazier
Chris Fowler
Christine Kang
Christopher Warren
Colleen Ryan
Dan O'Connor
Danny Paskin
Debi Windle
Deborah.Hamm
Dhushy Sathianathan
Diandra Porter
Dina Perrone
Donna Green
Eileen Klink
Elizabeth Guzik
Ferdinand Arcinue
Grace.Reynolds-Fisher
Heather.Macias
Hiromi Masunaga
Jalal Torabzadeh
Jane.Conoley
Janet Foster
Jeet Joshee
Jeff Cook
Jeffrey Adair
Jeffrey.Pair
Jody Cormack
Johannes Stosch
Jonathan O'Brien
Jose Raya Perez
Karen Quintiliani
Karyn Scissum Gunn
Kathryn Chew

Kierstin.Stickney
Kirsty Fleming
Kris Zentgraf
Kristin Bonetati
Laura Gonzalez
Laura Portnoi
Laurie Gatlin
Leakhena NOU
Lucy.huckabay
Margy Merryfield
Maria Lopez
Maria Organista
Mariza Hernandez
Meghan Griffith
Mehrdad Aliasgari
Michael Solt
Mimi Nakajima
Mischelle Van Brakle
Monica Lounsbery
Nancy Meyer-Adams
Neil.Hultgren
Nellie.Wieland
Paul Henderson
Paul.Scotton
Pei-Fang Hung
Perla.Ayala
Peter.Kreysa
Praveen Soni
Praveen.Shankar
Scott Apel
Sean.Smith
Shahab Derakhshan
Sharon Olson
Shireen Pavri
Stephanie Hartzell
Steve.boyer
Suzanne Wechsler
Ted Atkatz
Tim Mozia
Vas Narayanaswami
Total 86