Thursday, March 11, 2021, 2:00 – 4:00 pm Zoom link: https://csulb.zoom.us/j/97606370449

- CALL TO ORDER- 2:02 pm
 JZP began with Land Acknowledgement and welcome all members and guests.
- 2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA- **MSA**
- 3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES
 - 3.1 Academic Senate meeting of February 25, 202

AS

- meeting agenda.
- Leadership and professional development workshops coming soon. Pilot effort will be evaluated if the workshops will continue.
- Campus Conversation on 3-22 will be about Latinx representation.
- 4.2 Nominating Committee Nominations
 - Academic Appeals Committee (AAC): Michael Palomarez, Lecturer Faculty, CLA (F2021-Sp2022)
 - Advisory Council on Strategic Enrollment Management (ACSEM): Mary Marshall, CHHS (F2021-Sp2024)

Sp2023)

- o Mehran Rahmani, COE (F2021-Sp2023)
- Faculty Center Advisory Board (FCAB)
 - o Claire Garrido-Ortega, Lecturer Faculty, CHHS (F2021-Sp2022)
 - o Parvin Shariat, Lecturer Faculty, COE (F2021-Sp2022)
 - o Deborah Hamm, Lecturer Faculty, CED (F2021-Sp2022)
- General Education Governing Committee (GEGC)
 - o Nicholas Laskowski, CLA (F2021-Sp2024)
- Graduation Writing Assessment Requirement Committee (GWARC)
 - o Lorretta Ramirez, CLA (F2021-Sp2024)

- International Education Committee (IEC)
 - o Zheng John Wang, CHHS (F2021-Sp2024)
 - o Jan Haldipur, CLA (F2021-Sp2024)
 - o Azza Basarudin, CLA ALTERNATE (F2021-Sp2022)
- Academic Integrity Committee (AIC)
 - o Jessica Russell, CLA (F2021-Sp2023)
- Instructionally Related Activities Fees Advisory Board (IRAFAB)

- Voting Results: Yes=41, No=11. Amendment *Passes*.
- Lines 166 Section 6.1, amended by P. Shankar, moved and seconded. Delete language "At most four (4) awards ...and lecturer faculty" and add language "Of the awards ...and lecturer faculty."
 - Voting Results: Yes=42, No=12. Amendment *Passes*.
- Lines 226 Section 7.1, amended by P. Shankar, moved and seconded. Delete language "At most three (3) awards are granted annually."
 Voting Results: Yes=50, No=4. Amendment Passes.
- Lines 271 Section 8.1, amended by P. Shankar, moved and seconded. Delete language "At most one (1) award is granted annually."
 Voting Results: Yes=34, No=24. Amendment Passes.
- Lines 313 Section 9.1, amended by P. Shankar, moved and seconded. Delete language "At most three (3) awards are granted annually."
 Voting Results: Yes=40, No=14. Amendment Passes.
- Lines 360 Section 10.1, amended by P. Shankar, moved and seconded. Delete language "At most three (3) awards are granted annually." Voting Results: Yes=43, No=9. Amendment *Passes*.
- Lines 347 Section 9.6, amended by A. Coburn, moved and seconded. Revise language to "The University Awards Committee shall add three members of the President's Equity & Change Commission ... the Academic Senate office." Voting Results: Yes=21, No=33. Amendment Fails.
- Lines 39 Section 2.3, amended by P. Shankar, moved and seconded. Add language "Distinguished Faculty RSCA Mentoring Award."
 Voting Results: Yes=47, No=8. Amendment Passes.
- Lines 477 Section 2.3, amended by P. Shankar, moved and seconded. Remove Section 13.0 from Policy.
 Voting Results: Yes=27, No=30. Amendment Fails.
- Vote on the entire policy, moved and seconded.
 Voting Results: Yes=49, No=3.
- 7.2 Proposed name change B.S. in Biology, option in Organismal Biology to B.S. in Biology, Option in Zoology, Botany, and Ecology (AS-1130-20/CEPC), SECOND READING, TIME CERTAIN 3:50.
 - Second reading moved and seconded. Passed the second reading. Voting Results: Yes=42, No=4.

8. NEW BUSINESS

- 8.1 Proposed revision of PS 19-08, Policy on General Education (AS-1137-20/CEPC)--FIRST READING
 - This agenda item was not discussed at this meeting.
- 8.2 Proposed Elevation of the Bachelor of Arts in Fashion Merchandising and Design (AS-1135-

• First reading moved and seconded. Dr. Reiboldt and Dr. Marshall presented the degree elevation.

Moves to second reading at next ASmeeting.

- 8.3 Proposed Master of Science in Physics, Option in Computational Physics (AS-1131-20/CEPC/URC)--FIRST READING, TIME CERTAIN, AFTER 8.2
 - First reading moved and seconded. Dr. Andreas Bill presents the proposed Master of Science in Physics.

Moves to second reading at next ASmeeting.

9. ADJOURNMENT – **3:50 pm**

0.44.04.46.14
3-11-21 AS Meeting Attendance
15622210312
Adam Schwartz
Alan Colburn
Alex Guerrero
Allan Taing
Allison.Butler
Alyssa Castrillon
Amy Cabrera Rasmussen
Andrea Felix-Cervantes
Andreas Bill
Ann Kinsey
Becca Seguancia
Becky Nash
Beth Lesen
Bill Sanjian Zhang
Boualoy.Dayton
Brian.Jersky
Chailin.Cummings
Chloé Pascual
Chris Brazier
Christian Molidor
Christine Kang
Christopher Warren
Colleen.Ryan
Curtis Bennett
Dan O'Connor
Danny Paskin
Dave Stewart
David Shafer
David Wallace
Debi Windle
Dhushy Sathianathan
Diandra Porter
Dina Perrone
Donna Green
Eileen Klink
Elizabeth.Guzik
Emily MacDonald
flora banuett
Ferdinand Arcinue
Gary Griswold
Gwen Shaffer
Henry O'Lawrence
Hiromi.Masunaga
Tili Ottii.iviasuriaga

Isaac Julian
Ivy Torres
Jalal Torabzadeh
Jane.Conoley
Javier Gallarzo
Jeet Joshee
Jeff Cook
Jeff.Atherton
Jeffrey Adair (Jeff)
Jeffrey.Pair
Jennifer.Ostergren
Jessica Pandya
Jody Cormack
Jonathan O'Brien
Joshua.Sack
<u>Kristin.Gazdik</u>
Karen Quintiliani
karen warner
Kari - CHHS Advisor
Kathryn Chew
Keith.Freesemann
Kelly Janousek
Kerry Johnson
Kirsty.Fleming
Kirstyn Chun
Kris Zentgraf
Kristin Bonetati
LaShea English
Laura Gonzalez
lucy Huckabay
Manolo Cruz
Margaret.Black
Margy Merryfield
Maria Organista
Mariah Proctor
Mehrdad Aliasgari
Michael Solt
Michele Cesca
Min.Yao
Moni Simeonov
Monica Lounsbery
Nancy Meyer-Adams
Natalie Cheffer
neal.schnoor
Nellie.Wieland
Norbert.Schurer
Omar.PrudencioGonzalez

Paul Laris

Paul.Scotton

Pei-Fang Hung

Peter.Kreysa

Prashanth Jaikumar

praveen soni

Praveen.Shankar

Raven Yoshitomi

Rene H. Trevino

Richard Marcus

ryantaber

Sabrina Alimahomed

Sandra Shirley

Scott Apel

Sean.Smith

Shariq Ahmed

Sharon Olson

Sherry Span

Suzanne Marshall

Ted Atkatz

teresa wright

Terri.Armstrong

Terry Ross

Tim Mozia

Wendy Reiboldt

Total 118